barbarix

Test helpdocs 1 managing-users

Description short Test helpdocs 1 managing-users

Different people on your team build and market different parts of your product so it makes sense to collaborate on your docs and let experts write everything they know about each feature. Understanding Roles You can assign roles to team members you invite to HelpDocs depending on the actions they'll take inside the product. Here's a breakdown: Role Permissions Owner The Owner role is automatically assigned to the creator of the account. This role can do everything, including manage billing. Owners can't be deleted, but they can transfer ownership. Administrator Users with an Administrator role can do everything too. They can manage HelpDocs settings, billing, branding, and add/remove users and API keys. They can also edit all articles and content. Editor An Editor can see stats and manage content, but can't edit any settings or branding. Read Only Users with this role can only view content. This is usually paired with the Restrict to Logged In Users auth option. Inviting a User You can quickly invite users to your account. While you're waiting for them to accept the invitation they'll show up in the Invitations tab. Pending invitations take up slots on your account Head to Settings > Users Switch to the Invitations tab Click Invite New Users at the top right Fill out their email address, their role, and whether to send them an email invite or not If you don't send over an email invite they'll need to head to yourdomain.helpdocs.io/signup and enter their email address there Click Send Invite Invite multiple users by separating email addresses with a comma, like so: chromegoose@helpdocs.io,lindatherabbit@helpdocs.io,liveythepelican@helpdocs.io Changing the Default User Role When you invite a new team member in Settings > Users they'll automatically be assigned a specific user role. You can change the role they'll be assigned. Head to Settings > Users > Access and head to the Defaults section From the Default User Role dropdown menu select the role you'd like to be assigned Click Save Changes Changing Roles In your HelpDocs dashboard, head to Settings > Users Click the checkbox next to the team members you'd like to edit and click Edit User Choose a new role from the Role dropdown Click Save Changes Transferring Ownership If you're the owner of your account you can transfer ownership to any other user. Head over to Settings > Users Select the user you wish to transfer ownership to Click Edit User In the Role dropdown select Owner Hit Save Changes Once you transfer your account to a new owner you'll become an Administrator instead. There's no way to reassign ownership to yourself later on. If you transfer ownership by mistake, contact support in-app as soon as possible. Viewing Last Active Time In the corner of each user's profile image in the users table you'll see a little dot indicating their status. If the user is currently online that dot will be green. If they're offline the dot will be grey. You can hover over the status dot to find out when they were last active. Filtering Users Looking for a certain someone? You can filter by users' activity, role, and user groups to find the subset of users you're interested in. Head to Settings > Users On the User tab click Filter in the top right to expand the filtering options Add your filters. You can filter by: Name Email Inactive for x amount of time Active in the last x amount of time User group Role Click Apply Deleting Users If you're an Administrator or Owner you can delete users from your account. Head to Settings > Users Select which users you'd like to delete using the checkboxes Click Edit x Users Click Delete users If you delete a user all their articles remain exactly as they are now. The articles they have written are preserved ✨
Was this article helpful?

Still puzzling over something?

The agent has read this article — and everything around it. Ask a follow-up and it answers in seconds.